10 years of hair pulling, it's time to get help

When I was a freshman in college I was fixing my hair one day and noticed a bald patch on the back of my head. I grabbed a mirror and was shocked by the quarter sized spot. I didn't realize that I was pulling out my own hair until I caught myself a few days later. It's been 10 years since that time and I still struggle, worse than ever. There have been times where it got a little worse and times it got a little better, but it's been a struggle. Right now the spots are the biggest they've ever been, but if I pull my hair into a ponytail I can cover them up.

Thinking about my childhood there were some warning signs. On a road trip once my dad yelled at me to stop pulling my hair or else I was going to go bald. I remember in junior high my grandmother told me never to pull hair out because when I'm older I won't have any left. My roommate (before I knew what was going on) asked me why my hair was sticking out funny. In high school I was obsessed with removing split ends and was constantly searching for them, always playing with my hair. I wish I would have picked up on those signs so maybe I wouldn't be where I am today.

Living with this condition is miserable. I can't wear my hair down, and I have beautiful hair. Well, I suppose I COULD, but I don't want the questions or the stares. I don't like it when people sit behind me because I'm scared they will see something. I am scared to get my hair cut because I'm afraid other people will see when they start sectioning out the hair to pin up and tease me.

The worst part about trichotillomania is wanting to stop but not being able to. I experienced this sort of torture when I had anorexia and wanted to eat and get better but just "couldn't." The desire to pull hair, or at least run my hands through my hair, is so strong; it's soothing and comforting but as soon as I start pulling I am left feeling defeated, ashamed, and frustrated.