Fearing the unknown

Today is my first day of college. Since i dropped out of highschool at age 17..it has been almost 4 years since i've been in school. In the past month leading up to this i've cut, restricted meals, lost weight, hallucinated, and had a major anxiety attack. I don't know if i can do this...ughh. I'm not good at the unknown. And i'm obviously not handling my stress/anxiety very well. I just need to get it together. there is something seriously wrong with me. Why can't i handle even the normal things in life without lapsing all over the place?

Good morning Rebekah89,

Congrats on going back to school, that is such a major thing! I have been in college for a year in Oct. And I had been out of school for almost 15 years when I started (I promise I am not as old as that sounds). It ws so scary to not know how well I would do or if at all. I understand the anxiety you are feeling. We put a lot of pressure on ourselves and even punish ourselves. I binge eat (though it is controlled I still flair up) to hurt myself and my body/health sees the effects. Take a moment and realize what you have done.... you have made a major accomplishment returning back to school. you are sooooooo very brave for doing that. So many people want to but hide, scared to even fill out the application. But not you, you are smart, you are in college and you will shine! Just take your MAJOR accomplishment and focus on your achievement!! You want a better life or you would not be doing this.

Let's tackle getting you to campus today and then we can talk about any other issue you want.

Congrats to you.... you did it and I am proud of you.

Please come back and let us know how your day went.

Rebekah,
Facing changes is hard for nearly everyone, so please don't blame yourself. Are you getting any help to deal with the emotional distress and the self-harm behaviors?