First Entry

Hi all. I'm new to this discussion, group and website. I have been struggling with binge eating for years now. I have been in recovery, out of recovery. It seems as though whenever there are any major changes in my life, the refrigerator door comes swinging open. If you were to look at me, you wouldn't immediately say I'm fat. But I have probably gained close to 25 pounds since the beginning of May. I'm a college student. I have been sent out on my own, in a completely new environment. And I'm freaking out. I really need some support. I have an amazing family and boyfriend, friends. But it's hard to look the people who you see everyday and admit your deepest secrets. I'm hoping this online group will be that outlet for me. I'm really tired of my way of life. I will yoyo diet and then just throw all of my healthy mindsets to the wind and run into my bedroom with candy, ice cream, chips.. you name it. I want tomorrow to be the first day of the rest of my life. But I need some support to get there, any advice.. comments?

Hi LaurenRose35. I'm a college student new to the site as well. I've had my own struggles with binge eating too. I'm so glad for you that you're reaching out for support. It really is hard to reveal a such a painful part of yourself to people you see every day. When I tried, some of them really didn't understand.

I've been trying appetite awareness training to help with my binge eating. Therapy and a journal has also been very helpful. What has been key though is not depriving myself. I eat everything I want, but I try to eat them at scheduled meal times, when I'm hungry, etc. It's a lot easier when you're not feeling deprived of the things you want.

It is still really important to have people in your life you can talk to in person or on the phone. We will support you here, but it helps to have someone who loves you no matter what too! :)

Best of luck!

Lelbatt,