Got any pointers

Hi all , I am new to this so excuse me if I seem a little clumsy.I am writing to find help in dealing with my wife who has a unrestrained love affair with credit cards.She knows she has a problem but is unable to stop.She also seems unwilling to seek counsling.She is trying to fill some hole in her life that my love and best efforts cant fill.Some say she has to hit rock bottom before she will seek help.Does that mean I have to go down fianacially with her?She has secret accounts and cards. I put out one fire by finding and cutting up her cards but she always has another somewhere.If it wasnt for our 13 year old son I might just walk-away but that would be devastating for all.Anyone have a similar story that I can draw help from?

yes. This is an addiction not unlike the others that so many have. PLEASE Make sure you don't go down with her financially. Take her to support group meetings and therapy-sounds like you will have to "force" her to go at first. Chances are, the last thing she wants to do is hurt you and your son, but understand it is out of her control. She can't consciously say things to herself like-oh I don't need this, I won't buy it...it doesn't work that way for the drug or alcohol addict and it doesn't work for the spendaholic either. Make sure you engage with her as much as possible-or have good friends help you out with this. She needs avenues in which to re-discover all life has to offer, outside of the mall!! Make her see how nice it would be to have a big bank account - nicer than all the silly stuff she is likely accumulating! best of luck!!!