Hi everyone! I am a student in a counseling program and am t

Hi everyone! I am a student in a counseling program and am taking a class on military trauma. My grandfather was in the military, and he had a very difficult time adjusting after his deployment. He had PTSD after an explosion. He also contracted TB while deployed and was in quite a bit of physical pain. Unfortunately, he turned to alcohol to relieve his pain. This was really hard on my family. My grandmother actually had a lot of physical symptoms that were a result of secondary stress. I'm just wanting to find out about others' experiences. What would you say is the hardest thing to deal with during and after deployment? What were some of the struggles your family faces post deployment?What resources did you utilize?

Did your loved one have any medical, psychological, etc. issues post deployment? How did you all cope?

@Tiffanyz I have grown up in the military culture. My great grandfather, grandfather, father, and husband have been in the military. My grandparents went through sometime very similar. My grandfather developed PTSD while in the marines. He was knocked unconscious in a blast near the end of his deployment and had substantial medical complications after. He also witnessed his best friend being shot in the head and he died in his arms. When he came home, he was much different. My grandmother wasn't sure what to do. He was having nightmares, hot flashes, and had a hard time trusting anyone. He was pretty much disabled, which affected him greatly, as he started working when he was 11. He couldn't find a job that he could was able to do. She started to have nightmares and started to have panic attacks. I remember they went through a lot of marital problems. My grandfather did start seeing a therapist and things started to get a little bit better. Unfortunately, it took him a long time to adapt to civilian life.