Hi, this is my first time looking into a group like this. I

Hi, this is my first time looking into a group like this. I've been struggling with sweets more than usual for over 2 years now. I've always been good about keeping things under control, but now that I continue to gain weight which is causing me to feel less confident, I'm finding it's becoming more difficult to hold my ground and stick to my goals. I try to get my husband to help me by saying something to discourage me from eating sweets, but he never does. I'm hoping that this group will help me to meet others who may be going through the same struggle. This way I can have a support system to help me in holding myself accountable.

1 Heart

Giving up sugar too quickly can also cause traditional withdrawal symptoms. In animal studies, rats that had been fed a steady diet of sugar water exhibited signs of depression, anxiety, and lethargy when the sweet water was removed. Fox experienced this, too, after she transitioned from 40 teaspoons of sugar a day to just five in the course of a week. "The first two weeks were really hard. As soon as I was fighting the cravings I realized how often I wanted sugar, especially right after I finished a meal," she said. "I also got stomach cramps and headaches."

Avena's approach involves giving up things every few weeks. Start by removing sugary beverages like juice and soda, then move on to junk food, then reduce—though not completely remove—carbohydrates such as cereal and bread. Finally, you should try to reduce those foods containing "hidden" sugar like the aforementioned salad dressings. (Condiments are sneaky—even mayonnaise contains sugar!) This requires educating yourself about all the aliases sugar goes by on packaging.