Hiya, I am 39 and the doctors believe I came out with shingl

Hiya, I am 39 and the doctors believe I came out with shingles a few weeks after my son has chicken pox in April but I had no rash however the pain knocked me out for a month. I believe have now suffered 3 outbreaks my right hand side, my right leg and then my side again. I have just been diagnosed with PHN as I am in pain everyday worsened by walking and moving around anything really that makes my side move. I was on amytriptoline but struggled with it affecting my moods and so could not take enough to make a difference. I have now been on gabapentine for a week and have had to take the maximum prescribed to me at this point 300mg 3 times a day but the pain at times is still stopping me in
My tracks, I work full time as a teacher and can feel myself struggling already after being back to work only one week. Help what can I do!

https://www.practicalpainmanagement.com/patient/conditions/postherpetic-..., came across this and thought it could be helpful.

Thanks I am struggling with being healthy if I'm honest since I had shingles my healthy diet has gone out of the window and been replaced with whatever makes me feel better.

1 Heart

I am right there with you - Since my shingles outbreak / mix of anti-viral medication and pain relief I have no appetite, and if I do it is for comfort food. I am considering gabapentin (neurontin) instead of the norco I have been prescribed, which makes me loopy and nauseous. How is the gab working for you and what are the side effects (if any)?

I hope that you have a better grasp on the pain since your last post - I feel like shingles pain is vastly underestimated.