I have this urge to reach out to my family after they abuse

I have this urge to reach out to my family after they abuse me emotionally, and when they manipulate me into staying with them, letting them help me out, and letting them take me places I needed to go to. I have been giving into that urge for 27 years, and I don't know how to resist that. Any support would help.

1 Heart

Support is important. We must be cautious if we open ourselves up to known abusers. I recently cut off ties with yet another family member for enabling my abusive brother. Enablers of abuse can be a huge part of the problem. When we accept/*ignore* abuse, we legitimize it. Few people want to speak out against abuse, not understanding their silence helps to perpetuate it. There may be agencies able to provide you with more support. Think about possibly reaching out for more help outside your family. Abusers want to keep us isolated from healthy alternatives. I suspect you may be eligible for more assistance and resources than you are aware of. So happy you have this site to turn to. You seem to be are doing well with you thoughts and posts. Do not give up on continuing to become more mentally healthy and independent.

1 Heart

Is there public transportation where you live? Friends who can help you instead? And, have you tried counseling to strengthen your resolve to stay away from them? Maybe start small by not answering a call/message, then choosing if/when to return it. Perhaps if you must visit, have an "escape plan" ready - a friend who can pick you up, meet in a public place, etc. I'm glad you found this place to get encouragement and support. We are here for you. Prayers for peace, wisdom and guidance.

1 Heart