I was a Psychiatric Nurse for 44 years. In 2001, I was savagI was a Psychiatric Nurse for 44 years. In 2001, I was

I was a Psychiatric Nurse for 44 years. In 2001, I was savagely beaten by a patient and was off work for 3 months recovering from the injuries. I continued to work, and was constantly assessing myself as to why I was so irritable, so short in responses, no patience with the MD's, hardly able to open the locked door to my unit and many times I would run back to my car and go home. I was missing a lot of work as I could not bear the thought of going on that locked unit 'one more time'. My Nurse Manager was no support---she told me "You are an RN, you need to just deal with it". No one was listening to me or noticing the signs and symptoms I was displaying. I was tearful, anxious, extreme startle response, would not be where my back was to a door, nightmares sometimes beyond belief. I felt I would kill myself when one wonderful person approached me and said, "You are so fragile, come with me and I can help you". I was diagnosed with PTSD, Anxiety NOS, Anxiety Disorder, Panic Attacks, and continuing pain in my neck. This was the second time I applied as the first time in 2004 was refused. I have been on worker's comp. now since 2009. I see two Psychiatrists every month, take the meds. I am prescribed and try to get by every day. I cannot go buy groceries anymore and have to send my children. I feel like a prisoner on so many levels and I feel stuck. I have not been able to find any support groups for Nurses with PTSD in my state. All support groups I have found are for Military only. We nurses with PTSD are the invisibles. We are not recognized as we suffer. I could write a book here, but I won't. I'm sure there will be another time.

2 Hearts