I'm 8 days sober from deciding to quit alcohol. This isn't t

I'm 8 days sober from deciding to quit alcohol. This isn't the first time I decided to quit. I'm 24, I'm a graduate student.

Despite the new found sobriety. I feel somewhat of a feeling of saddness. I feel like I lost friendships to people to I befriended during the last year, but there was no burned bridges actually formed per se. It's just a feeling I have had, because a substance was used within the friendship in question.

Most of the friendships or relationships I've had in college, centered on a substance of some kind(I estimate about 95-98%). I wasn't looking for it, it just came into the picture directly or indirectly.

I had some good and bad moments during that whole time I drank or used or whatever.

Though, I still feel like I was missing something like more friendships, more partying, and losing my virginity. I did the first two, but never lost my virginity. I still feel jealous at times when people, have had sex or about to have sex and it infuriates me that I haven't.

I feel like I'm sober yet I feel some bitterness and saddness of the past 5 1/2 years, that I feel like some "failure" in a sense of comparing myself to guys my own age and any "success"(friendships, jobs, money, good cars, clothes, gilrlfriend/wife,) to my own which is a lot for me to swallow. I somewhat see myself as a loser towards guys my own age because I don't have a good paying job, I don't have lots of friends, I don't have the good girlfriend or wife, I don't have the house with the two car garage. I'm a part time employee at a college and a full time grad student that lives on campus with freshman and still has to rely on parents' support. And also I deal with periods of anxiety/social lonelines/anxiety/mood swings/depression alongside dealing with dysfuncational family issues and some alcoholism traits.

I had good and bad times of partying but it's hard to write it off as 100% good or 100% bad.