Kleptomaniac

Does anyone share my problem for stealing. I have been stealing things and money for 30 years. I have only been caught 2 times and they were for minor things not the big stuff I have done. I wonder is there is someone like me to help me stop. I am in therapy but it's not really helping. I take credit cards, checks, money from wallets, shoplift,I have stolen from my jobs. I'm an opportunist. If I think I can get away with something I do it and I am very good at it. I want to stop. Comments?

Hi Bsyd79, I don't have direct experience with what you're going through, but it seems that this may have started off for a reason and has continued on for such a lengthy period of time because it's a form of addiction. There's a feeling that people get when they steal, and I believe that this feeling can be addictive. That's one facet of it. Another reason, is that you are wanting financial and material gain. Without knowing your history and why you started stealing, it's hard to assess the reason and how to help you stop this behavior. The best thing that you can do is to work on this in small steps and to start replacing this behavior with something positive. Do you have anything that you are passionate about; something that you would be excited about starting? If you can start working towards more positive goals slowly but surely, then it may help you replace this behavior.

As well, are there any local support groups in your area?

1 Heart

Replacing the behavior with something positive? I don't do this for financial gain as I am well able to pay for what I steal. For the most part I steal things for other people to give to them. There was a CEO of a major bank back in the late 90's who was on probation for shop lifting and was caught shop lifting at Norstroms. He absolutely had enough money to buy what he stole.