My friend's husband exhibits all the characteristics of BPD

My friend's husband exhibits all the characteristics of BPD. When she tells me about issues she is having with him I hear myself in them. In one way it is helpful to know how BPD looks from the other side but it extremely difficult to hear what we put others through. So I was fine this morning but after spending half the day trying to help her and explain what her husband might be thinking, I am now depressed and lonely. I want to help others understand but it can bring out a lot of hurts.

2 Hearts

You are right, helping can bring up the negative emotions but for me I tried to replace each negative with a positive. I am in no place to be advising someone but in reality I am also an expert! So I challenge my negativity and focus on the positivity. Easy to say, I know

1 Heart

Yes, I'd love some examples too! So eager to learn how to deal with this.

Haha I will try but nott good at putting things into words... My therapist asked me to keep a thought journal and for every negative thought I wrote down, force myself to write down 3 positive thoughts. It was hard at first but became easier.