New

Hi, i'm new to this whole online support group thing because my great mom refused to get me a therapist unless I told her why but if I did i'd be sent straight to the loony bin. But just saying first off, I don't fucking understand why cutting is so bad if I never do it to deep, its never infected, and its an adrenaline rush for me. I never got the point. I don't get why i should stop.

Hey makeupmonster,
I totally understand how sometimes life can be so tough that sometimes we need something to help us get through it. I can also say that I understand your moms view on how she cares for your health and safety. Many times if you take some time you will find out that there may be reasons causing you to cut yourself(anger, stress etc). If you can explain to your mother that you would like to see a therapist for these reasons making you want to cut yourself maybe she will be more open? I hope for all the best for you!

what i'm really asking for is why cutting is so bad?

would you cut or purposely hurt another person? if your friend was scared, anxious or depressed would you recommend to her to cut?

think about it, makeupmonster, nobody deserves to be treated this way. i know what you mean, cutting is certainly a temporary relief, but it's not a solution to your problems, it only causes further more.

The reason cutting is bad is that it is a sympom of something deeper. Hurting yourself does not get rid of the pain that is at the root of hurting yourself. Hurting yourself is one sympom of Borderline Personality Disorder. I am currently going through DBT and I can see that it will be helpful. Please seek out some in person help in addition to coming here.

To Maedi, I just wish my family and friends would understand that even though they are hurt because they think I'm upset, i'm really not, its a release. If only they knew that I was actually happier doing it.