I'm not good at lurking, so I'd like to join in.

My name is Holly and I have been free of my xanax dependancy for a month.

In August, my neurologist switched me from Pristiq to Nortriptiyne cold turkey. This triggered withdrawl symptoms and put me in a tailspin in an already major depressive episode.

Over the past two years I had faithfully taken xanax to relieve symptoms of anxiety. I also suffered from severe migraines several times a week which put me in bed. Migraines kept me from time with my family, cooking, cleaning, and caring for my daughters. I also began to suffer from TMJ disorder. Major uncontrollable pain. I spent $4000 on treatment. During this time I also developed fibromyalgia symptoms.

I was taking massive amounts of medication. ALWAYS as prescribed and under a doctor's supervision.

But after the cold turkey switch from Pristiq I lost it. I couldn't hold it together. I could hardly take my girls to school. I'm certian the teachers thought my girls were deprived at home (which they never were, but I didn't have it in me to fix their hair in the morning.) Work was difficult. I went to the office but I was hardly functioning.

I began to taper down my xanax. I knew it was keeping me medicated and in a daze. I spent a weekend wallering in withdrawl hell. I heard things. I wanted to hurt myself. Thankfully only my husband witnessed this. The only relief I got was a few hours asleep at night.

One Wednesday morning I decided that I knew what I had to do. I called and found a place in my own town with my own doctor that could detox me. I packed my suitcase and went.

It was the most wonderful experience of my life. I will be forever grateful for the decision I made.

I'm whole. I'm not hurting or depressed. I have no migraines or TMJ pain. My fibro pain is very slight.

I'd like to get to know and visit with other people like me. I hope you don't mind someone that is not shy that will jump right in.

Looking forward to meeting you all,

Hi Newbie,