Skin picking

Does anyone have problems with picking at bumps or scabs? I started having this problem in 2008 and I cannot stop. It is driving me crazy, but picking seems to be a type of "therapy" for me, until I realize how bad I've made myself look.

I bit my nails and skin around my fingers constantly until the look perfect in my eyes, even if they are bleeding.

If its concerning you badly, maybe you should look into CBT??? Just a suggestion. :)

A ♥

I have the exact same problem.
I started when I was about 12 and haven't been able to stop. I've realized that it gets worse when I start feeling a bit depressed and I feel horrible about wearing tank tops or short sleeves.
Are you picking acne? Or are you just picking the same things over and over again?

I also have the exact same problem. I have been doing this for over 10 years, but it has really lessened in the last couple of years. I wish I could just stop, but I feel like it is too late. I pick more at pimples than anything else.

I used to have problems with biting my nails until I was a teen, then I stopped because I guess someone commented that they looked nice long. I still have issues with chewing the skin around my fingers, and with picking pimples. I've got so many small scars that most people do not notice, but what sucks is that if I make a scar too big, it won't come back in a dark scab, it'll come back white for a while, which is even more painfully noticeable. Recently, within the last year, I've developed painfully dry skin around my elbows, which I have to try with all my might not to scratch or pick at. I'm not sure if its eczema, but it hurts whenever it's even lightly touched, let alone scratched. It's been going on for a little over a year now....

Glad to know I'm not the only one who picks at themselves this much....

hey all