Spinal fusion questions

Has anyone out there had more then one spinal fusion? My husband is about to have a second fusion and I just want to know what to expect? Is it going to be more painful, less or about the same? Has anyone had a second fusion work when the first one failed? Any imput would help and any advice to help me help my husband would be appreciated.
Thank you

Yes,I actually have a 5-level spinal fusion (L1-S1) & my husband has a 2-level fusion(L4-S1). To be honest with you, you never know what to expect. Every surgery is different,every surgeon is different and of course the anatomy of each patient is not exactly the same. As you can probably figure out from my name, I am a nurse so I a patient as well as a clinician. How long has it been since your husbands 1st fusion?,what level was fused?,what are they attempting to fuse this time?, is he able to work or has he been disabled since this happened? To be perfectly honest, he may recover from this surgery & be the person he once was, without pain ect.. Or, he may recover from this surgery and there may not be a big change in his pain level, ect. but his back may be completely fused and stable. This is the case with my husband, he was doing great afyer 1st surgery & unfortunatelly slipped on ice in his employers parking lot and broke thr hardware from the original surgery and herniated the next level up (L4-5). Upon falling he also hit his head & wound up in the hospital on a ventilator for 3 days. After waiting almost 7 months for Work Comp to get their act together(which they still have not) we used our health insurance to get the 2nd surgery done. After that surgery, he wound up with a large hematoma and an infection in his back so he had to go in 8 days later for a third surgery. Unfornately, it has now been almost 1 1/2 years since that 2nd surgery and he is far from being pain free. He is back to work, but the pain he endures is heartbreaking for me to see. The fusion is completely solid & hardwa