Starting out - my internet/gaming addiction story

Well i just joined this support group. yeah I know some people may say it's ironic to join an ONLINE internet addiction support group, but really it's my only option. And going online for a little bit just to check up on email, support, etc. is different than intensely gaming for hours at a time.

I've always had a computer, even when I was a little kid. My parents actually supported the use of computer games, although half the time I just watched my sister play them because she's older and therefore got what she wanted.

It started becoming a problem around middle school. I had self esteem issues related to body image (I was never overweight but felt I was) not to mention an overbite which led to minor speech problems. I tried to explain to people but they couldn't do anything, after all it was middle school and everyone knows that's just the "awkward phase".

I started playing videogames to escape my real world problems, which led to even more sad feelings. I began to feel like I had no effect on the world at all; as if I could just drop off the face of the planet and nobody would notice. I had plenty of friends at school and I was semi-popular, but gradually, I began to distance myself from them. There were nights where I stayed up all night on school nights gaming and surfing the Internet.

Fast forward to freshman year. I left all my old friends to go to an entirely new school where I didn't know anyone. My gaming became less of a problem at this point as I became more busy; I plunged myself into schoolwork and sports and quickly established a tight circle of friends.