It's been a little over a year

Right around President’s day last year (2023), my life started taking yet another dive. First, my kitty cat of over 16 years dies a horrible death, then I get one of the worst rejections I’ve ever gotten. I’m not looking for pity, just understanding. None of what has happened was a result of my doing since I’m always trying to better myself. And believe me, I’m a full-on veteran of both death and rejection. They had just happened so close in time that everything seemed to pile up all at once. Honestly, since then I’ve been really lost. I can’t get another cat yet because I will be forced to move here in the next couple of months. And on top of just always having been 50 full levels of lost when it comes to reading social situations, that last rejection made even trying to find relationship or even close female friends kind of unbearable for a while.

And it’s not about “finding myself” or “learning to live alone.” Been there done that. Am a pro many times over at it. Love myself and all that. Still doesn’t invalidate wanting someone close.

Relationships are so tricky because we only really know how we think and feel and not what someone else does, and often its hard to determine if someone is being seriously interested or just trying to be polite.

I have been with this guy who is my best friend for 9-years and he has never been in love with me and so I get rejected pretty frequently. It used to bother me more earlier on in our friendship, but now I get it. I am not everyone’s cup of tea and we can’t make someone love us if they just don’t.