Shopping addiction

Hi I’m new here and don’t know where to begin to stopping my shopping addiction. I’m in debt and will use credit cards, affirm, and Klarna to buy things and pay for them over time. I’m overdrawn on my checking account but want to order more skincare and makeup. Advice anyone???

2 Hearts

Hi,
I’m not an expertise. But I had the same issue also. Shopping spree. I had many credit cards with limitless. SHOPPING ADDICTION-compulsive buying as a way to cope with negative feelings like anxiety and depression, which I had. It’s called ONIOMANIA and it’s not a disease.
I took professional help.
Here are few tips some strategies to help you break free from compulsive buying and regain control over your finances and well-being.

Understanding Shopping Addiction—
Shopping addiction, also known as oniomania , involves compulsive buying as a way to cope with negative feelings like anxiety and depression, which I mentioned earlier. Here are some signs that you might be struggling with shopping addiction:

1. Constant Thoughts About Purchases: You find yourself always thinking about things you plan to buy.
  2. Inability to Stop Shopping: Despite negative consequences, you can’t stop your compulsive shopping behavior.
  3. Euphoria After Buying: You experience a rush of euphoria after making a purchase.
  4. Regret or Guilt: You feel regret or guilt about past purchases.
  5. Financial Problems: You’re in debt or have trouble paying off existing balances.
  6. Lying or Hiding Purchases: You lie about your purchases or hide them from others.
  7. Opening New Credit Cards: You open new credit cards without paying off existing ones.
  8. Shopping When stressed or Sad: You turn to shopping as a way to cope with stress or sadness.

Coping Strategies for Shopping Addiction: -

Few practical steps to help you:

1. Unsubscribe from Email Lists and Unfollow Social Media Accounts: